Skip to content

Opportunity

September 21, 2011

image

Chance took me to a Chinese restaurant before he proposed. He was acting a little strange, so I already suspected something was up-then I cracked open my fortune cookie. It read: “You are about to receive something special.” That’s when I knew I would be getting engaged that evening. I thought Chance had arranged that special message, because he did stuff like that a lot when we were dating. But he didn’t have anything to do with it.
Ever since then, I’ve paid close attention to the message within my fortune cookie. So I perked up a little when the above message appeared before me today. What I really want in life (at the moment) is to get a Ph.D. It would only take two more years beyond the degree I’m getting now. A Ph.D. is the pinnacle of achievement for me, and to stop two years short seems so nonsensical. But it’s a little more complicated than it sounds. Even though I know I would be accepted into the program, and I’m confident I could handle it, I have to think about time…and money. Why is it that everything has to come back to money?!  But if the right doors open for me and Chance, the Ph.D. is possible. Fortune cookies have been good to me in the past-I think I’ll hang on to this one for luck.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

